‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’

So I just saw an ad for the movie version of ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower‘ and I’m really excited. It’s a book by Stephen Chbosky published in 1999 about this kid named Charlie and it’s written like a diary. It’s one of the few books that I actually re-read every couple years and I’ve highlighted some sentences that seemed profound at the time. I’m stoked for the movie and will most likely post a review of it on this post. My favorite part about the book is that it mentions the song Asleep by The Smiths.

Here’s a line I highlighted the second time I read it (each highlighting session was in a different color)

I don’t know if you’ve ever felt like that. That you wanted to sleep for a thousand years. Or just not exist. Or just not be aware that you do exist.

The thing I like best about the trailer is that Emma Watson is playing Sam. It was released Sept 21 but only in select cities and NOT in Orlando. 😦 This is upsetting.

Source:
Chbosky, Stephen. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. New York CIty: Pocket Books, 1999

3 thoughts on “‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’

Whaddya think?

