An affordable trip to Africa

Just kidding, it’s Busch Gardens in Tampa Bay, Fl. I went there for my birthday and got to see some of my favorite animals. Maybe I’m an anthropology snob but it really gets under my skin when tourists are ignorant of the animal they’re looking at. If you really don’t know anything about animals then look at the freakin sign on their enclosure! I heard it all yesterday: gorilla’s being called monkeys, lemurs being called monkeys, it’s just really annoying. THEY ARE PRIMATES which is a different order.

My favorite one happened while I’m walking through Curiosity Corner which has new arrival animals, reptiles, amphibians, lemurs, flamingos and a pretty mid-size ‘feline’. I’m trying to take a picture of her when a tourist family start making clicking, snapping, and ‘here kitty kitty’ sounds at this poor animal. Then the mom says, “Wow what a beautiful baby cheetah, I’ve never seen a baby cheetah before.” I think I made some disgruntled noises and said something like, “stupid tourists.” Seriously? It’s a goddamn Serval.

Other things that were unforgivable were some young college tourists calling the lions ‘Simba’ and ‘Nala’ and apparently that was the funniest thing any of them had ever said. Really? That’s not even clever let alone funny.

I did enjoy the roller coasters and got to try Cheetah Hunt for the first time. It’s surprisingly a lot of fun and unlike any coaster I’ve been on. Shreikra was good. Gwazi made me never want to get back on it. It seems like it hasn’t held up well over the years and I saw many loose nails which were not comforting.

But I do love Busch Gardens especially because of all the animals you can get up close to. This visit they added a Kangaroo section where I got to pet and feed Kangaroos. One visit a couple years ago I got to play with a Bengal Tiger.

People of the world, please stop being tourists and just be travelers.

Whaddya think?

