I’m too old?

I know my posts have been sparse and it was not intentional! I recently got a job after being unemployed for about 8 months so my time has been spent getting paid for my shenanigans.

So I’m working in a department store in a mall and mostly I get the prestigious job of folding clothes and straightening up the store. I was at work yesterday and this guy (a grown adult maybe in his 20’s) walks by so I mechanically say, “Hi, how are you doing today?” He stares at me, nods, and walks off. I’m not sure if men are downright stupid or just don’t care but they never seem to realize that we know when you are checking us out. I have eyes and they see what you’re doing… So this guy was just looking at me for a while and then musters up the courage to walk over to me.

“I just have one quick question…” he says.

“Sure, what can I help you with?” Surprisingly, I actually am this nice at work because no one would hire me otherwise.

“How old are you?” The weird thing is that he doesn’t say it condescendingly at all but rather in a way someone would ask where the bathrooms are.

“Uh, I’m 23.”

Then, straight faced and seriously, he says, “Oh wow, you’re way too old. I thought you were like 18 or something.” Then he walks out of the store.

This both makes me want to cry and round house him in the neck.

A. Too old for what? What would I have been offered if I was younger? A gift card to Claire’s?

B. Why would he think I was interested in anything he was going to offer?

C. Who the fuck says shit like that to people?

D. Why do we live in a society where a 23 year old is too old?

Here’s a list of things I am legitimately¬† too old for:

– this shit

– baby swings (I tried, won’t fit)

– shoes with velcro

That’s all I can think of.

I have just now understood why women lie about their age.

One thought on “I’m too old?

Whaddya think?

