Why Black Friday Sucks

There are a couple reasons why I have grown to hate Black Friday. It sounds enticing, patriotic almost, to support businesses and the economy while getting great deals and completing holiday shopping. The past couple years have put a sour taste in my mouth though.

For starters, I have to work in retail on Black Friday for 10 hours starting at 5:30 am. Other jobs I worked at had me there at 3 am. Serving the mass hysteria of shoppers makes you hate all humans. They’re loud, rude, terrible people who crawl out of their rock once a year to destroy stores and sometimes trample other people to death just to save a couple dollars on some stupid product that the company told you you need.  I’ve seen people break glass objects and kick the shards under a display instead of telling an employee or cleaning it. That piece of shit left broken glass all over the floor where everyone was walking around. I got out of line to find an employee and pointed out what happened and that piece of shit pretended like she couldn’t hear me.

Another bad aspect is that, traditionally, I get very drunk on Thanksgiving so the next day I have to work hungover or still drunk at 5:30 am. Yay.

Let’s see, what else do I hate.. Oh yeah.

As a business student and also a cheap person I’ve realized that the ‘deals’ from the last several years aren’t very good bargains. Part of it has to do with the economy being bad which means that companies try to make up for some of their yearly loss by offering sales but not as good sales as from 5 years ago. Part of it is due to inflation. Most of it is an amazing marketing ploy to get consumers to spend much more money on items that aren’t worth that amount. For liability reasons, I don’t want to say where I used to work last year. Let’s call them ‘New Teal’ and they sell clothing. At New Teal they might get an item in marked at $20. Two weeks later that item would go on sale and we would get a new shipment of that item for the sale. The shipment would come in and the same item is now marked $29.99 (we don’t price or tag them in store, it’s already done) and the sale is 50% off the item. This seems like a great deal and it’s technically not illegal but it made me feel like an ass. There’s also better sales at other times of the year like in February which is generally the slowest month for retail. So while you think 20% off your purchase is a good deal, it’s probably the smallest discount of the year.

I’m done ranting for now. I’ll let you know how it goes this year.

One thought on “Why Black Friday Sucks

Whaddya think?

