4 & a half years of suffering ceremoniously come to an end

That’s right,  I finished my last final for my undergraduate degree and last Friday was my whole ceremony thing. Yay. Let me summarize my feelings with something my mother once told me:

“BS = bull shit

MS = more shit

PhD = piled high and deeper”

Simply inspirational. College was a necessary evil but I still enjoy ranting about everything I hated; the administrative bureaucracy bull shit, working in teams, horrible teachers, there’s never any parking, the ridiculous ‘fees’ that accompany crippling yet rising tuition rates, seeing people I went to high school with go to better schools than I, waiting 4 hours in line at the testing center to take a final, parking tickets, owing the library 45 cents for 3 years because they only take cash and student cards but don’t have change for a dollar, teachers who think they have the authority to ‘not let you’ be on your phone in class (hah), a certain calculus teacher who consistently could not solve her own examples, a certain business statistics teacher who decided to change the date of a test but decided not to announce it (dick), overwhelming test anxiety that comes from standardized testing, counselor’s giving you wrong information, the campus going ‘smoke free’, half your teachers requiring brown scantrons while the other half require red scantrons and in some ‘twilight zone mathematical way’ the other half require neither.

I could keep going but you get the idea. I know it’s a lot of rant for one post but I wanted to demonstrate all the hoops you must jump through in order to graduate. Does anyone want to know what I enjoyed about college? It’s not as interesting or funny but it seems only fair to state that I did enjoy some things.

Asian Chao, a handful of great teachers that care about teaching and are really good at it, insane amounts of extra credit, working with Pet Rescue by Judy for a class, the students who work in the counselor’s office who correct the wrong information the counselor gives you, getting a student discount at the movies and thrift stores, being under the umbrella of school during the recession, all the Anthropology/Film/Art History classes I took, teachers that allow you to bring an index card to the exam, flexible classes so I can hold a job, and that’s all I can think of now.

2 thoughts on “4 & a half years of suffering ceremoniously come to an end

Whaddya think?

